GCS Forum: Advise on growing herbs and other plants indoor. - GCS Forum

Page 1 of 1

Advise on growing herbs and other plants indoor.

#1 User is offline   Camou 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:Aquascaping,DIY

Posted 17 March 2015 - 12:39 PM

Hi all,

i am new in this gardening thingy so please bear with me.
it all started with my kid buying a flowering plant at IKEA which grow very well
and lush without direct sunlight.

This is the plant can someone identify it for me?
http://i1326.photobucket.com/albums/u655/zerofighterx101/20150317_120033_zpsetoanvc4.jpg

Then my better half became ambitious and bought a few herb plants and put it at our corridor.
One week passed and i see that the plants are not healthy so i did some researched
and found out that most herbs need direct or partial sunlight to thrive.Now i am thinking of making a space for
her in the kitchen,for her plants.My questions are, what should i need to know about indoors gardening,like
temperature, air circulation,soil,fertilizer,water,pests and lights.I have good knowledge about lighting because
im an avid aquarist so i probably can cover that part easily.

Please do advise,your contributions are greatly appreciated.

#2 User is offline   digitalgate 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators

Posted 17 March 2015 - 01:15 PM

Long question , first u need to know the difference in full sun , partial shade and shade condition . After that u plan for plants in the correct light condition .

Your plant is cuphea.

#3 User is offline   sthh 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 17 March 2015 - 01:19 PM

What kind of herbs did you buy, and what medium did the herbs came in?
Herbs like sweet basil, dill and lemon mint are sold in NTUC, and are grown hydroponically in perlite.

I find sweet basil very easy to grow hydroponically and you don't need direct sunlight. Dill is easy to grow, but oregano, lavender and rosemary are more challenging.